There and Back Again

I started this blog almost two years ago in large part to chronicle my adventures through Marvel Heroes.  Honestly, it was mostly because I had this post in me and didn’t have any other place to put it.  So it was fitting that, when I largely stepped away from Marvel Heroes, most activity on this page stopped.

That was somewhere between six months and a year ago.  A large part of the reason I left was that I had a yearning for a more immersive MMO experience again (it happens).  I also had left the supergroup (guild) I was in and formed my own little off-shoot supergroup to host an event for some old friends who had not played the game before and who did not continue after the event.  So, in essence, I was guildless, which makes it easier to drift away from playing.

So I picked up my bags and moved over to GW2 for a while.  I don’t think I have played GW2 for any more than two or three months at a time, which is probably why I always enjoy a new, brief stint in it.  It gave me the immersion I was craving and still felt fresh enough that I was always excited to log on and see what new things I would stumble upon.  I found a fairly active guild and had myself a little fun bashing things in the face as a warrior.

After that, however, I was bitten by the WoD bug.  Some friends were trying to get the gang back together and the content looked interesting, so I pre-purchased and made the commitment.  Things were great at the start.  The content was engaging from questing to garrisoning, and I was progressing along nicely.  In fact, I was so up on the content that I almost ran to this blog to talk about how Blizzard had crafted the perfect expansion.  Before that happened, however, I hit some walls.

First, I was in an almost completely new guild.  None of my friends were in leadership positions and most were rarely on when I was on.  That guildless feeling returned.  Second, I started to feel the now oft-maligned garrison chore burnout.  Finally, and most significantly, we welcomed a new baby into the household in mid-December.  That added up to me, a former semi-competent raider who would like to raid again, not being able to actually raid, having little play time, and spending that play time doing things that were not very fun to maximize the chance that, at some indeterminate future time, I might have the chance again to raid with mostly strangers.  Paying $15/month for that did not seem like a wise investment.

And that is what brought me back to Marvel Heroes.  Not having to pay a sub and being able to play how and when I wanted to, for 15 minutes or three hours, was an attractive proposition.  I was also fortunate enough to be welcomed back by my very first supergroup in Marvel Heroes, so I now have a fairly active group of semi-familiar faces to run with.

Upon my return, I was struck by just how different and more diverse the game is than it was a year ago.  Granted, you are still punching, zapping, slashing, or shooting waves upon waves of sometimes nameless goons, but there are now a lot of different ways and a lot of different reasons to punch, zap, or stab the enemy.  I will explain that variety some in an upcoming post.  For now, however, it is sufficient to say that it is that variety, not just in how, but why I play each day that is holding my attention in this game.

Leave a Reply

